Fort Rodd Hill & Fisgard National Historic Sites
Contact Address Information:
603 Fort Rodd Hill Road
This is the oldest lighthouse on the west coast of Canada. The Fisgard Lighthouse Preservation Society assists Parks Canada in operating the canteen and supporting Parks Canada programs. For more information call (250) 391-1393.
Description of Tower: White, conical brick tower with red lantern.
This light is operational
Brick, two-story keeper's house.
Date Established: 1860
Date Present Tower Built: 1860
Date Automated: 1929
Optics: 1860: Fourth order Fresnel lens.
Current Use: Active aid to navigation, historic site, museum.
Open To Public? Yes.
Open daily March 01 - Oct. 31 10:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m, and weekends Nov. 1 - Feb. 28 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Inside the keeper's house are two floors of exhibits, dealing with shipwrecks, storms, lighthouses, and the everyday working equipment of the lightkeeper a century ago. Fisgard Lighthouse is staffed on weekends by Parks Canada volunteers. For information on the sites’ Parks Canada Volunteer Program, call (250) 478-5631 or email email@example.com
Head north on Douglas Street (Victoria's main street) until it turns into Highway 1. Take the Colwood exit (exit #10). Follow Highway 1A, then turn left at the third traffic light onto Ocean Boulevard. Follow the signs to the lighthouse site. Admiralty Marine Adventures offers a boat tour that includes the lighthouse; see www.victoriabcguide.com/admiralty.htm or call 250-413-7537.
Keepers: George Nicholas Davies (1860-1866), Rosina (Warner) Davies, William Bevis (?-1879), Mrs. Bevis (1879-?), Joseph Dare (1884-1898, drowned on duty), William Cormack (1898), Josiah Gosse (?-1929)
Nearby Lodging: The nearest campground is at Goldstream Provincial Park (250) 391-2300, about 8km (5 miles) west. For more accommodation information, phone Discover BC toll free at 1-800-663-6000.