NY State Department of Environmental Conservation
For many years, the lighthouse was adjacent to the Mount Loretto Mission of the Immaculate Virgin, a child-caring institution, and a statue of the Virgin Mary was on the tower in place of the lantern for some years. The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (NYSDEC) purchased the surrounding land and the lighthouse in 2002. If funds become available, the NYSDEC hopes to relight the lighthouse.
Height of Focal Plane: 106
Description of Tower: Conical brownstone tower with no lantern.
This light is not operational
1828: Octagonal stone tower.
Date Established: 1828
Date Present Tower Built: 1864
Date Deactivated: 1922
Optics: 1857: 3 1/2 order Fresnel lens; 1890: Fourth order Fresnel lens.
Current Use: In nature preserve.
Open To Public? No.
The lighthouse is located on a bluff overlooking Princes Bay, at Mount Loretto Unique Area. The area is operated as a perserve. It is open to the public from dawn to dusk and passive recreation is allowed. The area immediately around the lighthouse is not open to the public, but good views are possible. Please keep to the trails or the paved surfaces as the grasslands are used by nesting groundbirds. The lighthouse is best seen in the fall and winter when the surrounding trees have shed their leaves.
Keepers: ? Rawson (?); Silas Bidell (1849-1852); Homer Phelps (1852-?); John F. Anderson (Oct. 1, 1917 to Nov. 8, 1922)